Arizona Down Payment Assistance by County (2026)
Every down payment assistance program we could verify in Arizona’s 15 counties, checked against each program administrator’s own pages on October 21, 2026: who qualifies, income and price limits, credit minimums, how the assistance is structured, and whether it still has money.
What we found
- Apart from tribal programs for enrolled members (such as the Navajo Nation Housing Improvement Program), 11 of Arizona’s 15 counties (Apache, Cochise, Gila, Graham, Greenlee, La Paz, Mohave, Navajo, Pinal, Santa Cruz and Yuma) have only the statewide options: HOME Plus and the WISH grant.
- The rural Arizona Is Home program ran out of 2026 funds on October 6, 2026, so for the rest of 2026 HOME Plus is the year-round option in rural Arizona.
- Four program options are out of money right now: Arizona Is Home (rural), Home in Five Platinum, Home in Five’s 7-year (Arizona is Home) option, and the Arizona is Home option through Pima Tucson Homebuyer’s Solution.
- We found no standalone city down payment program in Mesa, Chandler, Glendale, Scottsdale, Tempe, Gilbert, Peoria or Surprise; Maricopa County’s 2026-27 plan funds homebuyer help only as part of specific housing developments (for example in Peoria).
- You do not have to be a first-time buyer for HOME Plus, Home in Five Advantage or Pima Tucson Homebuyer’s Solution.
Programs available in each county
Every county also has HOME Plus and the WISH grant. Tribal housing programs for enrolled members are not listed. open · limited / status not published · out of funds
| County | Programs beyond HOME Plus and WISH |
|---|---|
| Apache |
|
| Cochise |
|
| Coconino |
Sedona / Cottonwood programs only in ZIP 86336 and only for people who work in those cities. |
| Gila |
|
| Graham |
|
| Greenlee |
|
| La Paz |
|
| Maricopa |
No standalone city program found in Mesa, Chandler, Glendale, Scottsdale, Tempe, Gilbert, Peoria or Surprise (some assistance is tied to specific housing developments). |
| Mohave |
|
| Navajo |
|
| Pima | |
| Pinal |
Pinal County HOME DPA is listed by the county as available "when active"; no open round found. |
| Santa Cruz |
|
| Yavapai |
Workforce programs only (people who work in Sedona or Cottonwood). |
| Yuma |
|
Program rules, side by side
Assistance amounts change and depend on the loan, so follow each program’s official link for the current amount.
HOME Plusstatewide
Open year-roundArizona Industrial Development Authority
- Area
- All 15 counties
- First-time buyer required
- No
- Income limit
- $155,386 borrower income (all counties, effective 4/6/2026)
- Purchase price limit
- No program price limit
- Minimum credit score
- 620
- First mortgages
- FHA, VA, USDA, HUD 184, Fannie Mae HFA Preferred, Freddie Mac HFA Advantage
- How the assistance works
- Deferred second lien, forgiven on the 5th anniversary; repaid if sold or refinanced earlier
- Education
- One borrower, before closing
WISH matching grantstatewide
Open: 2026 round (members can enroll through 3/12/2027); member funds run out at different timesFederal Home Loan Bank of San Francisco (through member lenders)
- Area
- All 15 counties, via participating member institutions
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- Income limit
- At or below 80% of HUD area median income
- Purchase price limit
- Not stated
- Minimum credit score
- Set by the lender
- First mortgages
- Set by the lender
- How the assistance works
- Matching grant with a retention period
- Education
- Homebuyer counseling required
Arizona Is Home (rural)
Funds exhausted October 6, 2026; retired for the rest of 2026Arizona Industrial Development Authority
- Area
- 13 counties outside Maricopa and Pima (not Chino Valley)
- First-time buyer required
- Yes (veteran and targeted-area exceptions)
- Income limit
- 100% of county AMI (limits effective 7/1/2026)
- Purchase price limit
- $481,176
- Minimum credit score
- 620
- First mortgages
- FHA, VA, USDA, HUD 184, HFA conventional
- How the assistance works
- Deferred second lien, not forgiven; due on sale or refinance
- Education
- One borrower, before closing
Home in Five Advantage
Open (3- and 30-year options)Phoenix and Maricopa County IDAs
- Area
- Maricopa County
- First-time buyer required
- No (except the 7-year forgivable option)
- Income limit
- $157,360 (program limit, guidelines effective 6/10/2026; $89,920 low-income tier)
- Purchase price limit
- No price limit
- Minimum credit score
- 640
- First mortgages
- FHA, VA, Fannie Mae / Freddie Mac HFA
- How the assistance works
- Forgivable second (3- or 30-year options) or amortizing second
- Education
- 8-hour homebuyer course
Arizona is Home through Home in Five
Funds fully used June 25, 2026; more funding not currently expectedArizona Department of Housing funds via Home in Five
- Area
- Maricopa County
- First-time buyer required
- Yes (no home owned in 3 years) + 6 months Arizona residency
- Income limit
- $134,880 (120% AMI, guidelines effective 6/10/2026)
- Purchase price limit
- No price limit
- Minimum credit score
- 640
- First mortgages
- FHA, VA, Fannie Mae / Freddie Mac HFA
- How the assistance works
- 7-year forgivable second (forgiven 1/84 per month)
- Education
- 8-hour homebuyer course
Home in Five Platinum
All funds used and waitlist closed June 9, 2026Phoenix and Maricopa County IDAs (2025B bond)
- Area
- Maricopa County (not Paradise Valley)
- First-time buyer required
- Yes (with exceptions)
- Income limit
- $112,200 to $146,503 by household size and area
- Purchase price limit
- $567,098 / $693,119 one-unit purchase limits by area (higher for multi-unit)
- Minimum credit score
- 640
- First mortgages
- FHA, USDA, VA, HFA conventional
- How the assistance works
- 7-year forgivable second
- Education
- 8-hour homebuyer course
Open Doors
Open; funding reservations are limitedCity of Phoenix
- Area
- City of Phoenix
- First-time buyer required
- Yes (FHA definition)
- Income limit
- 80% AMI: $62,950 (1 person) to $118,700 (8 people)
- Purchase price limit
- $470,250
- Minimum credit score
- Not stated
- First mortgages
- Fixed-rate first mortgages
- How the assistance works
- Deferred loan, forgiven after the required affordability period (up to 15 years)
- Education
- 8-hour class + one-on-one counseling
Pima Tucson Homebuyer’s Solution
Open (first-come revolving pool)Pima County and Tucson IDAs (Housing Innovation Hub)
- Area
- Pima County
- First-time buyer required
- No
- Income limit
- $155,386 (government / Fannie Mae loans); $79,840 (HFA conventional reduced-MI)
- Purchase price limit
- No price limit
- Minimum credit score
- 640 (680 if debt-to-income is over 45%)
- First mortgages
- FHA, VA, USDA, Fannie Mae / Freddie Mac HFA
- How the assistance works
- 30-year deferred, forgivable second
- Education
- All borrowers
Arizona is Home through PTHS
Fully reservedArizona Department of Housing funds via the Housing Innovation Hub
- Area
- Pima County
- First-time buyer required
- Yes (no home owned in 3 years) + 6 months residency
- Income limit
- $80,760 (1 person) to $152,280 (8 people)
- Purchase price limit
- No price limit
- Minimum credit score
- 640
- First mortgages
- FHA, VA, USDA, Fannie Mae / Freddie Mac HFA
- How the assistance works
- 30-year deferred, forgivable second
- Education
- All borrowers
Tucson-Pima HOME Consortium DPA
Open (apply through ARC, CPLC or the Pima County Community Land Trust)City of Tucson / Pima County
- Area
- Tucson and Pima County (not tribal lands)
- First-time buyer required
- See program (Spanish materials say first-time buyers)
- Income limit
- 80% AMI (2025 HUD): $55,900 (1 person) to $105,450 (8 people)
- Purchase price limit
- $304,000 existing home / $345,000 new construction
- Minimum credit score
- Not stated
- First mortgages
- FHA, VA, conventional qualified mortgage (no ARMs)
- How the assistance works
- Deferred loan; interest forgiven after the affordability period, principal repaid on sale
- Education
- HUD-approved counseling before the purchase contract
Flagstaff CHAP: Home Purchase Assistance
Open (funding status not published)City of Flagstaff (administered by Housing Solutions of Northern Arizona)
- Area
- Flagstaff
- First-time buyer required
- No home owned in Flagstaff in the past 3 years, plus 12 consecutive months living or working in the Flagstaff Metropolitan Planning Organization area
- Income limit
- 150% AMI
- Purchase price limit
- See program
- Minimum credit score
- Not stated
- First mortgages
- See program
- How the assistance works
- Deferred, repayable loan (never forgiven); repaid with an equity share when the home is sold
- Education
- HSNA counseling + online class
CHAP also has a Permanent Affordability Pilot (up to 125% AMI) that trades assistance for a long-term resale restriction instead of repayment; buyers choose one option. Apply through HSNA (928-214-7456).
Official program pageSedona Workforce Homebuyer Assistance (SWHAP)
Open (funding status not published)City of Sedona + Housing Solutions of Northern Arizona
- Area
- People who work in Sedona, buying in 8 Verde Valley ZIP codes
- First-time buyer required
- No home owned in Yavapai or Coconino County in 3 years
- Income limit
- 150% AMI (Coconino)
- Purchase price limit
- 1.3 times area median price
- Minimum credit score
- Not stated
- First mortgages
- Fixed-rate first mortgages
- How the assistance works
- Repayable second, never forgiven; equity share
- Education
- HSNA one-on-one + online class
Program flyer dated 2023; confirm current limits with HSNA.
Official program pageCottonwood Community Homebuyer Program (CHP)
Open (funding status not published)City of Cottonwood + Housing Solutions of Northern Arizona
- Area
- People who work in Cottonwood, buying in 8 Verde Valley ZIP codes
- First-time buyer required
- No home owned in Yavapai or Coconino County in 3 years
- Income limit
- 150% AMI: $100,200 (1 person) to $154,650 (5 people), 2026
- Purchase price limit
- 1.3 times area median price
- Minimum credit score
- Not stated
- First mortgages
- Not restricted
- How the assistance works
- Repayable second, never forgiven; equity share
- Education
- One-on-one + online class
Ended, not launched, or not verifiable
- Pathway to Purchase (Arizona Department of Housing) launched in 2016 and had a limited final relaunch in 2021; it is no longer offered and its page has been removed.
- No open round found for Pinal County HOME DPA, a Maricopa County ARPA program, or a Prescott program (a federal grant request only, May 2026).
- Employer-only housing benefits (for city or county employees) and the Pima mortgage credit certificate (a tax credit, not down payment help) are not listed.
How we built this
We checked each program’s own website, guidelines or official PDF on October 21, 2026, and an independent second review re-checked them on October 22 and recorded the effective date of every limit. Programs listed only on third-party directories were left out. Funding can run out with little notice, so confirm current status with the program or a participating lender before you make an offer. We will update this page as programs reopen or change.
Use this data
Reporters, agents and housing counselors are welcome to cite or reuse this table. Please credit and link the source:
Source: Arizona Down Payment Assistance by County (2026), Arizona Mortgage Guide (arizonamortgageguide.com/arizona-down-payment-assistance-by-county).
Licensed CC BY 4.0: free to reuse with attribution.
Check Your Eligibility
Answer 3 quick questions to see if you qualify
Have you owned a home in the last 3 years?
Frequently asked questions
Which down payment assistance programs cover all of Arizona?
HOME Plus (Arizona Industrial Development Authority) is available in all 15 counties year-round, does not require first-time buyer status, and has a $155,386 borrower income limit and a 620 minimum credit score in 2026. The WISH matching grant is also available statewide through participating member lenders for first-time buyers at or below 80% of area median income. Arizona Is Home covered the 13 rural counties but its 2026 funds were exhausted on October 6, 2026.
What down payment assistance is available in Maricopa County?
Besides the statewide options, Maricopa County buyers can use Home in Five Advantage (its 3- and 30-year options) and, inside Phoenix city limits, the City of Phoenix Open Doors program. Home in Five’s 7-year (Arizona is Home) option ran out of funds on June 25, 2026, and Home in Five Platinum closed on June 9, 2026. We found no standalone city program in Mesa, Chandler, Glendale, Scottsdale, Tempe, Gilbert, Peoria or Surprise.
What down payment assistance is available in Pima County and Tucson?
Pima Tucson Homebuyer’s Solution (no first-time buyer requirement, 640 minimum score) and the Tucson-Pima HOME Consortium program, plus the statewide options. The Arizona is Home option through PTHS is fully reserved.
Do I have to be a first-time homebuyer?
Not for HOME Plus, Home in Five Advantage or Pima Tucson Homebuyer’s Solution. Most other programs require that you have not owned a home in the past three years.
Not sure which program fits you?
Take 60 seconds to check your eligibility. We match your county, income, credit and buyer status to the programs that still have funds.
Check My EligibilityPrefer to talk? Call or text (480) 420-4918